2016 Awards Gala & Installation Dinner by Ramona Chamber of Commerce

Written by on January 26, 2017

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The annual Ramona Chamber of Commerce Installation Dinner & Awards Gala was held on Saturday January 21st 2017 at Barona Casino and Resort. The installation dinner included special guest Anne Staffieri (RUSD Superintendent), Country Supervisor, Diane Jacob; and Michael Harrison, Chief of Staff for Congressman Duncan Hunter.

This year Ramona Chamber of Commerce recognized outgoing directors Bob Krysak, Lezley Knott, and Charlotte Jenson. Sworn in as this year’s board members are Stacy Bart, Kathleen Cole, Karen Domnitz, Carol Fowler, Bob Murry, Partick Osio, Connie Phillips, Heidi Sam, Eric Vellone; and Dan Vengler. Taking over the presidency from Bob Krysak, is Sally Westbrook with Paul Zawilenski as vice president. Other executive board members are Amber Ramirez (Treasurer), Cindy Galloway (Secretary); and Bob Krysak (Immediate Past President). The installation of the new directors was led by county supervisor Dianne Jacob.

Along with the dinner and installation of board members, there was also the community awards led by Carol Fowler and Thad Clendenen. This included 2016 Nonprofit of the year, 2016 Business of the Year, 2016 Citizen of the Year, and 2016 Lifetime Achievement award.

For Business of the Year:
Winner: Java Hut out of the San Diego Country Estates.
Finalist included Ramona Town Radio and Ramona Family Naturals.

2016 Nonprofit of the Year:
Winner: Ramona Community Foundation
Finalist included Heart and hooves Therapy and Boys & Girls Club of Ramona.

2016 Citizen of the Year:
Winner: Peter Bakarich
Finalist included Patrick Osio and Eric Vellone.

The 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award went to Ken Dower.

Ken Dower, a Navy and Marine Corps veteran retired from the U.S. Federal Service with thirty-five years in military intelligence. He and his wife Dottie moved to Ramona in 1995 where he joined the Ramona Rotary Club. In his twenty years of service in Rotary, Ken served as president of the club and as chief assistant governor for the rotary district of San Diego.

As a volunteer, Ken served two years as vice-president and then president of the Ramona Senior Center Board of Directors. He also served three years as a director on the board of the Friends of the Library.
He also volunteered at Pomerado Hospital for seven years assisting patients being discharged from the hospital.

He is a lifetime member of the VFW having served the Ramona Post as its public relations and Boy Scouts of America chair.

In his teenage years, Ken achieved the rank of “Life Scout”, and in recent years; he served the Ramona Eagle Scouts review board.

He is an active member of the First Congregational Church having served two years as the President of the Care Ministry Board.

Ken Enjoys having an active life and likes to get together with friends for a little poker.

Ramona Town Radio wishes to congratulate al of the finalist and winners at this year’s Awards Gala.

Ramona Chamber of Commerce wishes to thank their sponsors for this year’s Installation Dinner and Awards Gala. Barona Casino & Resort, SDG&E, Ramona Town Radio; and El Cajon Print. This years table sponsors were Heidi Sam with AFLAC, Sally Westbrook – Realtor & Mobile Notary, Law Offices of Krysak & Associates, Jewelry World & Loan, Pete’s Smoked BBQ & Burgers, Carol Fowler – Stage Presence Homes, Penny Hale – Quickbooks Solutions; and Century 21 Award. They would also like to thank their many silent auction donors.

See the Ramona Town Radio photos below, or CLICK HERE to see more from the Ramona Chamber of Commerce Facebook page.

| View

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Continue reading

Previous post

ULM Media


Ramona Town Radio

Ramona Town Radio

Current track